Philanthropists Michael and Anne Greenwood have made a generous gift to name the new home for the university’s music education programs at Oklahoma State University. In honor of the significant gift, the building will be named the Michael and Anne Greenwood School of Music. The Greenwoods were recognized for their gift Sunday during a Friends of Music benefit event at the OSU Botanic Garden.


The Oklahoma State University College of Arts and Sciences recognized three Hall of Fame honorees at a private banquet on Friday, Sept. 22 inside the Wes Watkins Center. Tom Daxon, the youngest person ever to win statewide office in Oklahoma, Anita Hill, who is widely respected for her professional and civic contributions to civil rights issues, and Gaute Vik, executive chairman of the world’s largest telecom consultancy company, make up the 2017 Hall of Fame Class.

One of Oklahoma State University’s primary traits is the cultivation of a friendly campus that helps students feel as if they are part of a family.  For many, family includes pets.  Through a cross-campus, collaborative effort, Pete’s Pet Posse (P3, for short) was established in Fall 2013 to introduce pet therapy dogs in hopes of making the OSU campus feel even more like home. 

About 2,500 miles west of Hawaii lies the Tarawa Atoll, one of 33 coral atolls constituting the island nation of Kiribati. In World War II, Tarawa was on the outer fringe of the Japanese Empire before United States Marines attacked the island and took control of its airfield. It was not without cost, as around 1,100 U.S. casualties occurred during the 76-hour Battle of Tarawa. Yet after the war ended, only 300 or so of these men were located and brought home. It wasn’t until History Flight, Inc., a private, non-profit organization dedicated to recovering WWII MIA personnel, set out to find them that so many have been located and returned to the United States in coordination with the U.S. government’s Defense POW/MIA Accounting Agency (DPAA).

School of Media & Strategic Communications alumnae Dani Welniak talks about living her dream as a sports reporter, and offers advice to those who think they would like to do something similar.  


Oklahoma State Geology Field Camp has grown in popularity over the last couple of decades, and the growth can be attributed to the passion OSU professor Jim Puckette brings to the camp. Puckette is an associate professor in the Boone Pickens School of Geology and has been leading the camp for the last 20 years.