News Archives

OSU Chemistry Students Win Awards at 2016 Pentasectional Meeting

Three Oklahoma State University chemistry students received awards at the American Chemical Society’s 56th Pentasectional Meeting April 9 in Bartlesville, Okla., at Wesleyan University.

The Pentasectional is a regional meeting for chemists and chemistry enthusiasts in the vicinity of Oklahoma, Kansas, Missouri and Texas. Participants from academia and industry come together to share research, discuss challenges and cultivate their field. OSU students presented 32 oral papers and 20 posters.groupcropsm 

Sabrina Farias received third place in the undergraduate category with her poster titled “Development of an Enzyme Based Sensor for Formaldehyde Detection Using a Screen Printed Electrode.” Farias will receive a $75 prize for her award.


Wesley Honeycutt received first place in the graduate category with his poster titled “Development of a Networked Sensor Array for Gas Microseepage Detection Near Injection Well Sites.” Honeycutt will receive a $350 prize.IMG 1049wesleypostercropsm

Gayan Premaratne received second place in the graduate category with his poster titled “An Ultrasensitive Microarray Imaging (Technology to Selectively Detect Lung Cancer MicroRNA Markers).” Premaratne will receive a $250 prize.guyanpostersm