CAS News

CAS faculty and staff honored at Convocation

The Oklahoma State University College of Arts and Sciences announced its faculty and staff award winners Aug. 28 at its annual Fall Convocation, held in the Wes Watkins Center Exhibition Hall. CAS leaders presented 11 awards to members of the faculty and staff, along with 89 service pins for milestone work anniversaries. 

Interim Dean Jeanette Mendez provided a “State of the College” address for attendees. Lan Zhu, chair of the College of Arts and Sciences Faculty Council, and Danya Brewer, president of the College of Arts and Sciences Student Council, also spoke. In addition, Mendez and Zhu presented awards, along with Associate Deans Laura Belmonte and Tom Wikle, and donor Malinda Berry Fischer.Convocation square

 2018 CAS Faculty and Staff Awards

Wise-Diggs-Berry Award for Teaching Excellence in the Arts
Louise Siddons (Department of Art, Graphic Design and Art History)

Junior Faculty Award for Scholarly Excellence
Joseph Haley (Department of Physics)
Misty A.W. Hawkins (Department of Psychology)
Andy Mattern (Department of Art, Graphic Design and Art History)

Community Engagement Award
Wayne Bovenschen (Michael and Anne Greenwood School of Music)

Outstanding Staff Award for Outstanding Service
Megan Robinson
Holli Stevens

Award for Excellence in General Education Teaching
Douglas Miller (Deaprtment of History)
Martha Halihan (Department of Chemistry)

Award for Excellence in Program Assessment
Jon Comer (Department of Geography)
Andrew Kimbrough (Department of Theatre)