

DEPARTMENT OF GEOGRAPHY

College of Arts and Sciences

Geography Newsletter

Spring 2021

INSIDE:

Spring Graduates......1

People News.....2

News From Around the Department......3

Awards Gathering.....4

May Happenings

We are all happy to see 2020-21 in our rear-view mirrors! The campus mask mandate has ended, commencement returned on May 7-8, and we can (sort of) travel and do field work this summer.

The following undergraduate students are slated to graduate:

Ashlyn Amador – BA, Global Studies

Cory Austin – BS, Geography

Larissa Duncan – BA, Global Studies

Malena Escalante – BS, Geospatial Information Sci.

Adam Littlefield – BS, Geospatial Information Sci.

Pecos McDonald – BS, Geography

Alexander Pritchett – BA, Global Studies

Ashley Raatz – BA, Global Studies

Madelaine Stuart – BA, Global Studies

Monique Walker – BA, Global Studies

MS candidates: **Kellen Bullock** (fall 2020), **Jaryd Hinch** (spring 2021)

PhD candidates: Samayita Bandyopadhyay, Qinyue (Arlene) Pan

Congratulations to all the graduates!!



People News

Laura Kreutzer joined the Geography Department as the new Administrative Support Assistant in April 2021. She looks forward to interacting and working with each of you.

Laura graduated in August 2017 from Brigham Young University (BYU) with a BS in Human Development. She has spent the past few years working as a supervisor for Facilities Management at BYU.



Laura currently volunteers as the Social Media and Content Manager for KindCause, a technology nonprofit. She also enjoys writing and going on walks with her husband.



Emily Ellis, OSU Geography alumna (BS 2015 and MS 2017), has decided after working as a GIS Technician in the private sector to rejoin the world of academia!

She will be continuing on to pursue her PhD in Geography at Texas A&M University beginning in the Fall of 2021. Emily was selected as one of Texas A&M's Graduate Merit Fellows, and her research will focus on remote sensing for water resources as part of the Global Rivers Group.

Emily is very excited to be getting back into research and can't wait to see everyone at conferences again soon! (She also promises to continue wearing orange even if it isn't the norm in College Station. Go Pokes!)

News From Around the Department

On May 7, the Department of Geography was well-represented at the Phi Beta Kappa initiation. According to the chapter Treasurer, this is the most students from our department initiated in a single year. Inductees include:

Jacquelyn Harsha – Geospatial Information Science
Kayla Hoelscher – Global Studies
Audra Messenger – Global Studies
Ashley Raatz – Global Studies
Madelaine Stuart – Global Studies



May 2021 BA degree recipient and departmental Outstanding Senior **Monique Walker**, a double major in Global Studies and Political Science, was selected by the OSU Alumni Association as a 2020-21 Outstanding Senior. Monique was one of 6 CAS students to receive this honor among 22 total at OSU.

You can read the campus news release here and Monique's information here.



PhD student **Brice Zoungrana** received a \$250 Martin Luther King Scholarship sponsored by the Oklahoma State University Division of Institutional Diversity.

Dr. Tom Wikle published "Chocolate and the Ugly Secret of Cacao Production on São Tomé Island," his sixth article on Africa in the journal Focus on Geography.

2020-21 Awards Gathering

On April 29, the annual Geography Awards Gathering took place in the SSH basement auditorium followed by the initiation of new students into Gamma Theta Upsilon (GTU), the international geographical honor society.



Outstanding Junior Caitlin Brooks (L) and Outstanding Senior Monique Walker (R)





Croft Family Scholarship recipient Stephanie Grace (L), Tweedie Travel Scholarship recipient Clayton Lucas (C), and Norris Scholarship recipient Ofuje Amune (R)



GTU initiates (L-R) Gabby Boyd, Ofuje Amune, and Clayton Lucas, with chapter president Fernanda Ramírez Sáenz. Not pictured is initiate Belem Carrasco Galvan

2019-20 Shaull Medal for Outstanding Teaching Fernanda Ramírez Sáenz. Not pictured is 2020-21 recipient Jaryd Hinch